Thank you so much for stopping by the blog today!  Whatever brought you here, I’m thankful!  I’d love to connect with you and help with anything I can.  Always feel free to DM me or ask any questions on the gram! Here are a few frequently asked questions:


Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Odessa, TX, a small west Texas town full of tumbleweeds, oil fields, and fantastic mexican food.

What college did you attend and what was your major?

I have a Bachelors Degree in Management Information Systems from Baylor University in Waco, TX.  I am obsessed with Waco and I miss my glorious 3.5 years in college all the time.  I was a member of Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority and I was also a Golden Girl Feature Twirler during my years at Baylor.

What do you do for a living?

I currently work for a large IT Consulting company and I travel to client sites to implement our software.

Where do you live now?

My husband and I live in Columbia, SC  with our dog Champ!  We have moved three times in the last two years!  First to the Asheville area, then Charlotte, and now we are here in Columbia!

What does your blog name stand for?

CITY SOUL: Being from a small TX town where there was no good shopping or fun things to do, I always wanted to be in a city.  I competed in the National Baton Twirling Association from the age of 4 and every time we went out of town for competitions to big cities like Dallas or Austin I always was so motivated by being there and wanted to get out of west Texas (even though now I love it).  SOUTHERN HEART: There’s just something to love about being from the south.  I think where you come from kind of defines you and I am definitely a southern girl.  You will consistently find “y’all” in my dictionary and I will love fried chicken, biscuits and gravy until I die…

What’s your favorite workout?

I physically and emotionally hate running to be honest, but I have the slowest metabolism on earth I swear… So my favorite way to burn off those tacos and margaritas is to do HIIT workouts.  (High Intensity Interval Training)  I love the GRIT classes at Gold’s Gym and anything involving weight workouts.  I work out 3-5 times per week depending on my travel schedule for work.  If I can’t make it to the gym, I love doing the PopSugar videos on YouTube as well!

What’s the most worn item in your closet?

Honestly, as much as I love getting cute, I love being comfortable more.  I have had a grey pair of men’s sweatpants from Walmart since high school and I still wear them all the time. Just keeping it real!

What advice do you have for young women?

Just Go For It!! What ever the “it” is in your life, you can do it.  Be kind to others, love the Lord, and work hard.

I’d love to connect with you on Instagram: @mattisonheatherly



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *